CLICK HERE FOR FREE BLOGGER TEMPLATES, LINK BUTTONS AND MORE! »

Sunday, April 21, 2013

An Affair to Dismember The Matchmaker Series, Book One by Elise Sax and a Giveaway



               Sometimes it’s good to be psychic. What am I saying? It’s always good to be psychic. I mean, I guess it is. I can’t remember what I’m doing from one minute to the next, let alone predict the future. But I imagine it’s pretty awesome to know things a person normally couldn’t know.     
        
               It’s good for Grandma Zelda in An Affair to Dismember. She’s a famous psychic matchmaker in the small village of Cannes, CA. She has a third eye, and with it she just knows who will find love with whom. She also has an uncanny ability to predict weather. And other things.

               Zelda is sure her granddaughter Gladie has the gift, says she’s just like her. But so far, Gladie is only adept in getting into trouble and stumbling onto murder and mysteries. She’s never predicted the weather once. It’s up in the air if Gladie really has the gift, like her grandma says, but Gladie does have a knack for solving mysteries, something her grandmother has no talent for.

               If you could have one superpower (or supernatural power), which power would you choose? My sons often ask me this question. They would like to control time and fly. I would like the power to heal. If you could know the future, would you? If you could read minds, would you choose to?
               



An Affair to Dismember
The Matchmaker Series, Book One
Elise Sax

Genre: Comedic romantic mystery

Publisher: Ballantine (Random House)

ISBN: 978-0345532220

Number of pages: 320
Word Count: About 80,000



Amazon     BN    Wal-Mart    BooksAMillion

Book Description:

Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax’s hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.

Three months has been Gladie Burger’s limit when it comes to staying in one place. That’s why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family’s matchmaking business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. What’s more, Gladie is also highly unqualified, having a terrible track record with romance. Still, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has “the gift.” But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.

When Zelda’s neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family’s drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor’s death was murder. It’s not too long before she’s in way over her head—with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she’s unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued—either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?

Praise for An Affair to Dismember

“Elise Sax’s new Matchmaker series is off to a rousing start! . . . Sax gives the comic mystery genre a new spin. . . . A fun read sure to entertain.”—RT Book Reviews

“Fans of laugh-out-loud romantic suspense will enjoy this new author as she joins the ranks of Janet Evanovich, Katie MacAllister, and Jennifer Crusie.”—Booklist

“Elise Sax will win your heart.”—New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis

“In the tradition of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series, Elise Sax’s new novel is a funny, sexy ride.”—Valerie Frankel, author of Four of a Kind

“What a fun book! It will leave readers begging for more.”—Kim Gruenenfelder, author of There’s Cake in My Future


 About the Author:

Elise Sax worked as a journalist for fifteen years, mostly in Paris, France. She took a detour from journalism and became a private investigator before trying her hand at writing fiction. She lives in Southern California with her two sons. An Affair to Dismember, the first in the Matchmaker mystery series, is her first novel.








a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

Shannon R said...

I think I'd chose the power to heal people, reading mindings it seems would be just to overwhelming and you'd learn things you really didn't want to know. It sounds like a fun series