CLICK HERE FOR FREE BLOGGER TEMPLATES, LINK BUTTONS AND MORE! »

Friday, April 20, 2018

Juggling A Full Time Job, Writing and Family - Guest Blog with David L. Wallace





I think the best time management jugglers in the world are writers who also have a full-time job and a family - I’ve lived that life for many years. Writing a novel, based on how long you want to take to complete it, is a full-time job as well. I feel fortunate that I’ve drawn inspiration for two of the three stories I’ve written from both my children and my 27-year information technology professional work life. To make time for my writing, sometimes I get up in the middle of the night and write. Other times, when I need privacy to put in work while my family is busy throughout the day, I go inside my master bedroom walk-in closet.

For my current release, Preordained, I wrote it purely based on my thrill of writing. The ideas for my first two stories were launched by events in my life. 
Inspiration for my first novel titled Trojan (2016), came from a work scenario during my attendance of a computer science class while on active duty in the US Navy. One of the instructors removed the covers off a few of the computers in the lab and I noticed the tiny chips, the brains of those machines, were all manufactured overseas somewhere. It shocked me and made me a little nervous that our defense systems could be dependent on foreign parts. It begged the question … what if an unknown entity embedded rogue computer logic within the hardware components of those machines at the time they’re manufactured, causing them to crash at a predetermined time, incapacitating our defense capabilities? That question led to the formation of Trojan, which is a techno thriller series.

My second story is a children’s chapter book titled Ralphy the Rabbit (2017). Inspiration for Ralphy came from my desire to use stories to teach my kids while I was away on business travel. Some of the friends of my kids would tell them that my stories about Ralphy sounded like a book, hence the birth of my Ralphy the Rabbit series.

The net result of all of this is that writing is my passion. I’m driven and compelled to write. Because of that pull, the call from deep within to put words to paper, I do whatever I need to do to compose a story. Sometimes that means I get very little sleep.

Preordained

David L Wallace



Genre: Paranormal, Crime, Thriller



Date of Publication: 13 Apr 2018



ISBN: Paperback 978-0-9972257-2-3

ISBN eBook 978-0-9972257-3-0



Word Count: 75,000

Book Description:

In the vein of Seven and The Devil’s Advocate, it’s the book that launches the series: a tech billionaire, foretold in biblical events; a cop, ordered to sacrifice his soul to save his son…

Art Somers is a detective in close-knit Murrells Inlet, S.C., a small-town, coastal community with deeply held spiritual and supernatural belief systems. A serial killer has shattered his peaceful existence by abducting multiple victims within his county. Young thugs, backwater drug dealers and the occasional murderer are the most Art’s had to deal with, but now he must apprehend a predator who FBI profilers can’t find.

He discovers he has a tie by blood to the case and uncovers evidence that calls into question his long held spiritual and supernatural beliefs. Abraham, the father of faith, had to choose to either sacrifice his son or disobey a direct order from God. Art must now make a choice - sacrifice his soul to save his son.

“A riveting and intriguing read.”  - Clarion Review

“A gripping detective story.”  - Kirkus Reviews

“Original and engaging.”  - Publisher’s Weekly

Amazon      BN       Kobo     iTunes

About the Author:

Before publishing his debut novel in 2016, he served over 27 years as an information technology professional working initially for the US Navy, and then the Department of the Navy and various fortune companies. He’s a UCLA writing program alumnus who writes mystery thrillers and children stories. He has three wonderful kids who he enjoys immensely. Writing is his passion and his goal with each story is to capture the imagination in the opening pages and keep it engaged to the story’s riveting conclusion.






a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

Author David L Wallace said...

Thanks for taking part in my book tour...